Friday, January 9, 2009

A Beginner's Guide to Ayurveda

Ayurveda, (pronounced Aa-yer-vay-da) is a holistic system of healing that originated in ancient India. According to Ayurveda, health and well-being is a state of dynamic balance. Balanced living can be achieved when we live in harmony with the natural cycles and rhythms of the Earth and our bodies.
According to Ayurveda, the universe is made up of five elements. Ayurveda believes that our bodies are microcosms of the universe with all of the elements represented in different forms. In Ayurveda, there are three main body types that exist through a combination of two elements.

Air + Ether = Vata Fire + Water = Pitta Earth + Water = Kapha

Ayurvedic Wellness Programs are custom designed for the client based on his/her body type and conditions using natural methods of prevention and self healthcare.
Ayurvedic Wellness Programs can support the health of people of all ages, particularly those who are looking to enhance their lifestyles through: stress reduction, increased mental clarity, more restful sleep, increased energy, greater sense of well-being, and improved organ function.

“Ayurveda, said to be a world medicine, is the most holistic or comprehensive medical system available…. The secret of Ayurveda’s individualized healing method was preserved in India, whereas it has been lost or superseded in other cultures.” *
* Swami Sada Shiva Tirtha

For more information on Ayurveda and to discover your metabolic body type visit

No comments:

Post a Comment